9 Secrets to Making your Hair Grow Faster

afterlight

Hello my lovely friends!

I am writing this post because I myself am desperate for some long hair. I chopped my hair a couple of years ago to make a statement and I feel like I am still recovering. It was fun for a while, but I am desperate to run my hair through some long locks. So I decided it would be appropriate to write a post to hopefully inspire others who may be in the same boat! Over the last two years I have been growing my hair out and it has honestly grown quite a bit, especially when I’m aware of what I am doing to it, so I thought it was time to share some of my tips!

Here are some of my secrets to making your hair grow faster;

1.) Biotin – Biotin is a vitamin you can buy at any local supermarket or drug store. I’ve been taking Biotin for the last couple of years and I love it. I briefly decided to use a hair, skin and nails vitamin instead thinking it would be stronger and there was a noticeable difference. My hair was growing way slower and my nails were significantly more brittle. Biotin will quickly become your best friend! Absolutely necessary for hair growth.

2.) Scalp Massages – for every shampoo, really massage it into your hair at the roots. This will help stimulate your hair follicles and boost growth.

3.) Haircuts – Trimming your hair every 6-12 weeks does actually help your hair grow longer and faster. If you don’t keep up with your trims, your ends will just continue to fray until they totally break off. It is worth it to get a trim, even if you only cut off 1/4-1/2 inch each time.

4.) Heat Protectant – using an oil or a serum or spray of some kind before using a blow dryer, flat iron, curling iron, or any form of heat will really help you. Be aware of how often you are putting heat onto your hair, but when you do you should certainly be protecting it. Some of my favorites ;

13cdff49440e149c10cc6f7379d4240f

Oi All in One Milk protectant and treatment – check it out

Extreme_IPN_antisnap_large

Redken Extreme Anti Snap – perfect for sealing in your ends, protecting from heat and environmental harm. Check it out here!

5.) Diet – just like the rest of you, your hair needs protein, fruits, veggies and vitamins. Be aware of what you’re putting into your body and how that is affecting the health of your hair.

6.) Products – It is SO important to use a professional shampoo and conditioner. So many people are constantly wondering why the products are so much more expensive at a salon than Target but it’s because there is a huge difference. And to be honest, the price difference is not even that extreme. Many store bought products contain extremely harsh chemicals that can be really damaging and drying to your hair. Stop into the salon and find the best shampoo and conditioner for you, don’t just buy the prettiest product at Walmart.

7.)  Combing – Using a wide tooth comb when your hair is wet can keep from pulling or yanking on sensitive hair. When your hair is wet it is at it’s most fragile, don’t use a brush to rip through the tangles. If your hair is really tangly, invest in a detangling leave-in conditioner, like the Oi All in One Milk I showed earlier. Another favorite here:

5772c6451f71b1b04e66bb2758676218

8.) Deep Treatments – Book an appointment at the salon once a month for a treatment. It will truly change your hair. OR, invest in a deep treatment you can do at home. Use it every third or fourth shampoo, once every week or two weeks. Put the conditioner in your hair in the shower then do your thing – wash, shave, jump up and down, etc 🙂 One of my faves here:

7220c572dc8f58401d839597e476a0fb

9.) What is your hair doing when you’re sleeping – It is not good for your hair to be pulled back in a pony, bun, or tightly braided when you are sleeping. And definitely don’t do it when your hair is wet. Pulling it back when it is most sensitive can take away from the elasticity and be really damaging to your hair. Let your locks down, let them be loose! Especially when sleeping. Your hair needs the night to heal and be free 😉

Thank you so much for reading. I hope this was helpful! It has all worked really well for me over the last couple of years and I highly recommend any and all of these remedies 🙂 Good luck!

m.

3 thoughts on “9 Secrets to Making your Hair Grow Faster

  1. As always, I love your posts! I just got 5 inches cut off, I know most people wouldn’t notice, but I miss my longer hair! haha
    I didn’t know that about combing hair when its wet, but now it makes complete sense. You’re so informative 🙂

Leave a Reply

